Abba Hugs 2

Two articles ago, I wrote about Abba hugs (so if you haven’t read it, you may want to read that one first and then come back to this one). And I’m sitting here on this long flight back home, reflecting on the many ways I felt “hugged” this past week. Can I share another one with you?

Our ship arrived in Santorini and I was taken by the beauty of the place. Our group assembled to leave the ship and go on the tour we had booked for the day: a hike up to a volcano followed by a swim in some hot springs. I didn’t quite know what to expect, other than it would be different and fun.

We took the tender boat from the ship to shore; and then I saw it – the most perfect sailing boat I have ever seen. It looked like a pirate ship of polished wood and beautiful lines. It is like those you see in the movies. And I thought to myself, “Oh, I would give anything to sail on one of those!”

Well, if you read the last blog, I’m sure you can anticipate what comes next. Can you guess how we got to the volcano and the hot springs? Yes. That one boat was ours.

Once again I sensed the truth of Psalm 37:4, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

Does that mean that He puts the desires in our heart, or that He knows what we desire and gives it to us? In short, Yes! I have found both to be true. So often I don’t even know what to ask for; but I’ve learned that if I let him lead me, He shapes the desires of my heart and then gives the fulfillment of them.

Here are a few more examples of “Abba hugs” I received on this trip…

* I felt an Abba hug both times that I saw the most perfect sunset over the sea from the balcony of our stateroom.

* I felt hugged when we due to a series of unplanned events we left the Trastevere region of Rome just in time to see a stunning view of the sun setting over the river.

* I felt hugged when we saw dolphins swimming next to our ship as we sailed between Calabria and Sicily.

* I felt an Abba hug while swimming in the hot springs of Santorini, taking in all the beauty of His creation.

* I even felt hugged when we realized Kerry’s luggage didn’t make it to Rome with us, and we realized how unimportant material possessions really are.

I could recall many more, and I’m sure I’m still not recognizing the many things God does on my behalf each and every day. But I want to live in an awareness of His love and His intervention in my life. So my prayer is that the Holy Spirit will open my eyes to see and feel the love of the Father in ever increasing ways.

Will this be your prayer too? Abba is giving you daily. He wants you to know how much He loves you.


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood | All Rights Reserved 2016

Leave a Reply

