Silly Prayers

“God, a parking spot right by the front door would be so nice!”

Have you ever uttered a prayer and then felt silly for doing it? I mean, sometimes my prayers are outright ridiculous – selfish, insignificant… And the feeling is that I shouldn’t be bothering God with such minutia when there are so many important things going in the world.

Really. Like, why would He be bothered with little details when there are wars, when there’s famine, and disease, and crises all over?

I remember having just that experience recently. I left my office in a hurry to go pick up Kerry’s birthday cake just in time to make it to the dinner we had planned in his honor. It was a large cake; I was wearing a skirt and high heels (all if this to show you how “noble” my petition was). As I drove into the parking lot, it just came out… I didn’t plan it, but the words were uttered before I could think. “God, a parking spot right by the front door would be so nice!”

I immediately caught myself and began to repent, when I sensed the Father saying, “Do you think I know what you need before you ask? Do you trust that I’m ordering your steps? Could it be that I’ve arranged your timing to take care of your need?”

Ten seconds had transpired when I rounded the corner and saw the driver of the car on the spot closest to the entrance get in and leave, right before my eyes, leaving the space wide open for me. And I could sense the Father’s delight in showing me His love and teaching me that there are no details of my life that are insignificant to Him.

James 4:2-3 says, “You do not have, because you do not ask. You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.” So, yes, there are times that we don’t receive because we are asking selfishly. But the reality is that most often we don’t have, simply because we don’t ask. And perhaps we don’t ask for fear that we may be asking “wrongly.” And this is tied to our view of God.

So, let me ask you, how do you see God? Do you see Him as the untouchable, distant God who is only interested in the “big” events of the world? Do you think He’s weighing your motives to see if they are noble enough to answer your prayer? Or do you know Him as the good Father who cares about every detail of your life?

Let me remind you that Jesus said. “Look at the birds of the air . . . Are you not of more value than they? Consider the lilies of the field . . . if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” (Matthew 6:26-30). As pastor Jack Hayford has said, prayer is not about overcoming God’s reluctance. God is a GOOD Father, who wants to give good things to His children. He loves you and wants you to come, and ask whatever you need – no matter how insignificant it may seem.

Come to Him boldly. You can approach Him with confidence because He cares for you.


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood | All Rights Reserved 2016

Leave a Reply

