God’s Perfect Will

Can we know God’s perfect will? Of course! And it’s much simpler than we think. One of the questions people most frequently ask their pastors is, “How can I know God’s will for my life?” It is usually asked with an expectation of definitive answers that will guide our decisions as to our career, job, relationships, etc. These are valid questions, and if we talk to the Lord, in prayer, we know that the Holy Spirit will guide us in all our ways (Proverbs 3:5-6).

But God’s will for us is much deeper than that. I am convinced that we truly have free will and that God lets us choose many of the details of our lives. At the end of the day, whatever you do, wherever you live, God’s will is that you be IN Him, and that you live WITH Him. The rest are just details.

I can say that with certainty because I hear it in Jesus’ last prayer, as He addresses His Father and expresses what He desires for His disciples. Here are His words, modified as though He were addressing us directly (rather than praying to the Father). I want you to hear directly what Jesus desires for you:

John 17:6-26

I have manifested my Father’s name to you.

You know that everything the Father gave me is from Him, for I have given you the words that He gave me, and you have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from the Father; and you have believed that the Father sent me.

I have asked my Father to keep you in His name, which my Father gave me, that you may be one, even as my Father and I are one.

I want for you to have my joy fulfilled in you.

I have given you my Father’s word, and the world has hated you because you are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.

I don’t want you to be taken out of the world, but that my Father will keep you from the evil one.

You are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.

I want for you to be sanctified in the truth; my Father’s word is truth.

As my Father sent me into the world, so I have sent you into the world.

For your sake I consecrated myself, that you also may be sanctified in truth.

I ask my Father for those who will believe in me through your word, that you may all be one.

Just as my Father is in me, and I am in my Father, my desire is that you also may be in us, so that the world may believe that my Father has sent me.

I have given to you the glory that my Father gave, that you may be one even as we are one: I in my Father, and my Father in me.

My desire is that you may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that my Father sent me and loved you just as my Father loved me.

I desire that you also may be with me where I am.

I want you to see my glory that my Father gave me because my Father loved me before the foundation of the world.

You know that my Father sent me. I made His name known to you, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which my Father has loved me may be in you, and I in you.

Live your life in relationship with God. Receive the perfect love of the Father, so you can enjoy being one with Him, according to His will. Walk with him. Open your heart to Him. Let Him change your “want to’s” – and you will live in His perfect will.


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood | All Rights Reserved 2016

Leave a Reply

