Worth Waiting For

“You’ve got to be kidding! I love it!!!” Kerry’s excitement was so much fun! It was exactly what I had hoped for and had been anticipating over the last few months. I suppose you know how fun it is to see someone you love open up a “perfect” gift.

Back in September Kerry had been to a clothing store and had seen a great jacket. Even though it was on sale (it was the last one of its kind on the rack), he was hesitant about spending the money for it, so he didn’t buy it. But he told me about it. A few days later I was in the vicinity of the store, so Kerry asked me if I would check on that jacket to see if it was still available. Sadly, it was gone.

Over the next few months Kerry thought about that missed opportunity and lamented not having bought the jacket when he had the chance. He looked and looked for it, to no avail. He couldn’t find anything comparable.

You can probably anticipate where this is going…

What Kerry didn’t know is that between the day when he first saw the jacket, and the day that he asked me to look into it, I had gone to the store and bought it for him. In fact, it was hanging in our closet, but he didn’t know it. Several times I thought about giving it to him ahead of time, but my plan was to give it to him as a Christmas gift. I knew he would be excited about it, and I could hardly wait for Christmas Eve. It’s not that I wanted to keep the gift from him; I was keeping it for him, and just waiting for the perfect time when he would get the most enjoyment out of it.

Kerry says the delay only increased his appreciation for the jacket. Not only did he receive what he wanted, but he received a wonderful surprise, and my plan spoke volumes about my love for him. Of course, that was exactly what I was going for. It worked.

I just wonder how many times we get frustrated because we think that God isn’t answering our prayers, when all along He has already provided the answer and is just waiting for the perfect time for it to be manifested – the time when it will have the greatest impact and give us the greatest joy.

I know this doesn’t answer all the questions about why some of our prayers seem to go unanswered. But it does help to put things in perspective. Sometimes we think that God is keeping things from us; but He is really keeping them for us.

Remember that when we submit our cause to God, He “works [all things] for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28). This includes what we perceive as a delay in God answering our prayers. God is not slow concerning His promises; but He always has our best interests at heart.

If you haven’t seen the answers to your prayers – yet – do not get discouraged. Talk to God about it. Ask Him to show you what you need to see in the process. Draw closer to Him, and He will give you the strength you need in the waiting. And you can be assured that in due season you will receive an answer. You will be able to look back and see what God was doing. You will be able to rejoice in knowing that in His perfect love, He had been perfecting the things He desired to give you.

Some gifts are worth waiting for!


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood | All Rights Reserved 2016

 

Leave a Reply

