Word for the New Year

Rather than writing a blog for this week, I want to share with you something I received from the Lord for this year. Often, when God speaks, what He says is of a very personal nature. But sometimes we just have a sense that what we hear from Him has a broader impact. This is my sense with this simple message that I heard (in my spirit) in prayer last week:

“Come to me. I want to teach you how to take possession of your land. I’m not talking about your country; but the land that I’ve given you to tread; the land over which you walk on a daily basis. It belongs to you in the Spirit. Learn to declare my word over it. Learn to speak those things that are not as though they were. Do not get so concerned with what you see, but believe what you hear me telling you. My words are true. Put my words in your mouth and take possession of the things I’ve given you. The time is coming when you will need to turn a deaf ear to all other distractions and listen only to me. So draw near to me. Ask me the questions, for I, and only I have the answers. Do not lean to your own understanding; nor to the understanding of the ‘experts’ – but on me. Do not be afraid to speak a message that is different from the current. Many will revile you; but you speak what you know to be true. For I have given you keys for locking and unlocking, and those are only used by faith. Open your mouth and let me fill it.”

I wonder if there are some situations in your life that seem impossible. Perhaps you are facing some opposition, or maybe God is calling you to do something difficult. Whatever the case may be, open your mouth and declare God’s truth. Confess what God speaks to you, even if it seems absurd. Fill your mouth with His word, and declare Truth over every situation.

Let me remind you that God speaks because He is a relational God, who wants to draw us into conversation with Him. So, if you sense that this word is for you, I encourage you to take this word and turn it into a conversation. Ask God how He would want you to apply it in your life. Perhaps God wants to give you some additional detail, or make a particular application just for you. He cares about you in a personal way.

If you have any insights that you want to share, or if you simply want to let me know how God spoke to you through this word, I would love to hear from you.

P.S. – If you are not familiar with the idea of “hearing from God,” let me just share with you a few key points. 1. God speaks because He is relational by nature. He wants to relate with His children in a personal way. 2. God has not gone quiet. The Bible says that we don’t live by bread alone, but by every word that is continually proceeding out of the mouth of God (Matthew 4:4). 3. God speaks to us by the Holy Spirit to guide us into all truth. Jesus says that “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come” (John 16:13). 4. Hearing God is a matter of the spirit – not the mind. We hear God in our “knower,” even if our mind can’t comprehend it (see 1 Cor. 2:6-16). When you “hear” from God, it is not usually an audible sound. It may be a word, a picture, a vision, or a sense in your spirit of what God is wanting to communicate. So, if this is new to you, perhaps this is a great

way to start this new year – lean in to God and posture yourself to hear from Him. If you would like additional resources, let me know and I can give you some suggestions.


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood   |   All Rights Reserved 2016

 

Leave a Reply

