Not Without Benjamin!

I write this while in Egypt after meeting the Healing Grace team with which we are ministering. They have a beautiful ministry to poor Christians in Egypt, supplying health, education, clean water, and Jesus to these families. They are the hands and feet of Jesus in real, concrete, practical ways. In our introductory meeting today, one of our leaders shared his heart for the ministry using a very simple, yet profound analogy that I want to reflect on: “Not without Benjamin.”

In Genesis 43 we read the account of Joseph’s brothers’ second trip to Egypt. Ten of his brothers had been to Egypt to buy food – all but Benjamin. Joseph recognized them and, while concealing his identity, gave them food and also a test: he kept Simeon in prison with the condition that the other nine were to go back to Canaan and return with Benjamin (the youngest brother). So it was that the nine brothers returned to their father, Jacob, and told him what had transpired in Egypt.

In chapter 43 we pick up the story: Now the famine was severe in the land. And when they had eaten the grain that they had brought from Egypt, their father said to them, “Go again, buy us a little food.” But Judah said to him, “The man solemnly warned us, saying, ‘You shall not see my face unless your brother [Benjamin] is with you.’”

Judah had a clarity that he was not to come before his “savior” unless his brother was with him. He was not willing to go to a place of deliverance without Benjamin.

In the same way, can we have that conviction that we will not go to see our Savior’s face unless the little ones – our little brothers – go with us? I confess that most of the time I am complacent, ignoring these “little ones” as long as my needs are met. But I am accepting this challenge to look, notice, love, do something so these Benjamins can come with us.

What is my part? What can I do? I know I can’t save them all; but that should not be an excuse to do nothing at all. I can do SOMETHING, and in doing so, I can approach Him – my Father, my Savior – saying, “I didn’t come alone; but I brought my little brothers with me.”

Lord, let it be so. Show me my part. I want to say “Yes” to Your call.


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood   |   All Rights Reserved 2015

One thought on “Not Without Benjamin!

Leave a Reply

