All Things Work Together for Good

“How can anything good come out of this?”  This was the cry from my heart when my husband, Hannibal, passed away after a five-year battle with cancer.  Since the day of his diagnosis we had stood in faith, believing that God would heal him – against all medical odds.  We were expecting a miracle, and, even as his health deteriorated and the end seemed imminent, I was convinced that he was going to be healed, and that we would have a ministry telling the world about God’s healing power.  I had received a prophetic word through which God declared that out of me would come joy, and praise, and a ministry!  Imagine my disappointment and confusion when we didn’t see the end we expected.  How could anything good come out of this?  What kind of ministry could I possibly have after experiencing such a “faith failure”?  Who would ever want to listen to my story when the end result was not what I anticipated?

But God has been true to His word.  That was eight years ago.  And now I am writing in a plane, returning home from Bogota, Colombia, where I officially launched my book, Lessons Learned in the Battle.  Over 150 people came to hear me share the lessons I learned through the most difficult season of my life, and how God was faithful to strengthen and encourage me every step of the way.  The response was overwhelmingly positive, with people thanking me for sharing my story of victory – the unexpected, unappreciated, and underestimated victory that we can have each day.

When Hannibal died some people said, “I’m sorry he lost his battle with cancer.”  But the day he left his earthly body I understood like never before the reality of Romans 8:38-39:

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  …  No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The enemy came to steal, kill, and destroy.  And at face value we would say that he had won.  But through it all, we were never separated from the love of Christ.  We won!  Hannibal is, even now, rejoicing in fullness of life in the presence of the Father; and I am sharing God’s love, God’s strength, God’s faithfulness, God’s comfort with hundreds of people.  I am comforting others with the comfort I received from God.  I am helping others with the help I received from the Lord.  I am strengthening others with the strength I received from Him.

Back then I had no comprehension of how God could do it; but now, looking back, I see that His words are true: “All things work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28).

Perhaps you are going through something difficult, and you can’t imagine how it can ever work for good.  Let me encourage you to trust God.  He can truly do exceedingly, abundantly above all you can ask or think.  And, if you submit them to God, ALL THINGS will work together for good!


Dr. Chiqui Polo-Wood   |   2015 All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

